Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Monday, July 27, 2009

Sunday, July 26, 2009

Worms







Time to harvest the worm castings again.
We have a wonderful worm bin that composts all of our kitchen scraps with out any of the usual turning and watering and fussing that our regular compost requires.

This tray is fully decomposed and ready to go on the garden. But what else is in there? A family of slugs! Luckily our chickens have learned to like slugs.






Here is an egg from our red wriggler composting worms!



















For a fertilizer boost for our plants we drain off the liquid from the bottom of the worm bin, add 9 parts water and give it to our plants.

Thanks worms!

Saturday, July 25, 2009

Daily Dinner


>Pancakes with marmalade

> Green beans with garlic

> Cucumber and tomato salad

Corn NOT from the garden

Please notice our meal time reading. Golden Gate Gardening

Friday, July 24, 2009

Daily Harvest

Baby Time!


The ladybugs in love, in an earlier post, has led to an explosion of baby ladybugs all over the garden!

In this photo of a a ground cherry seedling I can spot six baby ladybugs!

Are there more?

I feel like every leaf I turn over in the cucumber patch reveals more.

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Daily Harvest


First tomatoes! Tastes like summer- so sweet!

Tuesday, July 21, 2009

Daily Harvest


All these cucumbers came off one mutant plant! It made this flat, wide stalk that looked like a wacky ribbon. We thought something was wrong with it. But then it sprouted oodles of cucs all along the mutant stalk!

Daily Dinner


Cucumber Gazpacho!!

Monday, July 20, 2009

Daily Harvest


Only one apple survived the squirrels. But, dang, so delicious! Tart and perfume-y.

Thursday, July 16, 2009

Daily Harvest

The last artichoke of the year!

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Tuesday, July 14, 2009

Sunday, July 12, 2009

Saturday, July 11, 2009

Friday, July 10, 2009

Thursday, July 9, 2009

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Daily Dinner

Salmon (from Alaska) with preserved lemons from neighbor Dafna.

Daily Harvest